Sorry For The Silence

June 14, 2010 § Leave a comment

It’s my birthday today, the World Cup is in full bloom (I’m on Twitter all the time these days). As is prone to my people (and by that I mean “hit men for the Russian mafia”), I get all morose and contemplative and bullshitty-philosophical on my birthday. And, since I’m a nerd of mythical stature, that means I read some Joseph Campbell to cheer me up.

So I won’t post anything on the cup today (if I did it would be me musing about how well the teams from inveterately racist countries are going to perform in South Africa. I’ll do that later.), but just leave you with a Campbell quote or two that might stoke you up the way it does me.

“Perfection is not lovable. All the Buddhas are alike, and they have left the world so as not to live in it. If you’re going to live in the world, you live with imperfections. And what is lovable about a person is precisely that cute little twist of the nose that doesn’t belong to the Greek tradition. What is lovable is the fault; what is lovable is the humanity.”

And:

“When you go through life … it all seems accidental at the time it is happening. Then when you get on in your 60s or 70s and look back, your life looks like a well-planned novel with a coherent theme … Incidents that seemed accidental, pure chance, turn out to be major elements in the structuring of this novel. Schopenhauer says, ‘Who wrote this novel? You did.’ “

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sorry For The Silence at Hashiell Dammit.

meta

