Quick Reaction to the USMNT Selection

May 26, 2010 § Leave a comment

Quick reax to the announcement of the USMNT squad. Here were my predictions, looks like I went 4 for 7 on predicting those to be let go, so meh. That being said:

– I knew it was wishful thinking that Bradley wouldn’t keep both Bornstein and Spector. We as USMNT fans have to be at peace with their perpetual presence. They are our burden to bear, as it were. Just don’t put both out on the field at the same time, Mr. Bradley, and they shouldn’t be the reason for any downfall.

– So with that minor bitch out of the way…I think I really like these picks. In my predictions, I granted Bradley a little credit to be flexible, and boy howdy did he show it in the forwards selection. In my personal rankings, I had it as Altidore, (Charlie Davies, *sniffle*), Gomez, Buddle, Findley, Johnson, Ching, and, I’ll be damned, Bradley went out and grabbed the top 4. I really don’t know what to say to anyone who would pick Ching over Findley- it’s not even close in my mind. I mean, did anyone watch any Real Salt Lake? Don’t answer that. Yes, I know I’m a nerd.

– If I have a nightmare about this team, it’s in the back 4: after watching Gooch last night, I’m kinda worried about him. Hopefully, it was just a little rust and he’ll be okay. If not, I have night-terrors of a Bornstein, sub-optimal DeMerit, Bocanegra, Cherundolo monstrosity dancing in my head.

– Now, my dream set up for these players, given the 4-4-2 antique jalopy they’ll be driving:

Back: Bocanegra, Cherundolo, Onyewu, Goodson

Middle: Donovan, Bradley, Dempsey, Torres

Forward: Altidore, Buddle

And then bring in Gomez in for one of the two around the 60-70 min mark.

And that has 2% chance of happening.

All in all, feeling pretty good about it.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quick Reaction to the USMNT Selection at Hashiell Dammit.

meta